Western Region Awards

The deadline for awards nominations is December 1, 2016. Awards will be presented at the CUPA-HR Higher Ed Symposium, hosted by the Southern and Western Regions, in Houston, Texas, February 26-28, 2017.

Each year, the members of the Western Region are asked to nominate individuals and institutional members for regional recognition awards. Nominations for each award will be reviewed by the regional awards committee and presented to the regional board for consideration. Presentation of the awards for 2017 will be made at the CUPA-HR Higher Ed Symposium, hosted by the Southern and Western Regions, in Houston, Texas, February 26-28, 2017.

Questions about the awards and nomination process should be submitted to Janet May.

The Northwest and Southwest regions merged in 2008 to form the Western Region. Award criteria that require service to the Western Region recognizes service to the former Northwest and Southwest regions.

Hugh Avery Award of Distinction

This award, named after Hugh Avery, honors a member of the Western Region who meets the high level of personal attributes and human resource professional standards set by Hugh Avery. Hugh Avery was the national CUPA-HR president in 1972-1973. He worked at the University of Houston–Clear Lake (UHCL), and was active in the Texas Higher Education Human Resources Association, serving as its president in 1983. In 1991, the UHCL renamed its President’s Distinguished Staff Service Award to the Hugh P. Avery Prize in honor of the late Hugh P. Avery, originator of the program, for his years of dedicated service to the university. The award recognizes and honors individuals who have served the university in an exemplary manner. It is the highest honor that UHCL can bestow on a non-faculty employee.

Criteria for the Hugh Avery Award:

  • Long-term continued involvement in Western Region activities
  • Demonstrated history of Western Region leadership
  • Long-term extraordinary practitioner of the human resource profession
  • Sense of humor
  • Deep concern for the rights of all humans

Hugh Avery Award of Distinction Nomination Form

Regional Lifetime Membership

This award honors human resource professionals who have retired or are about to retire and who have made outstanding contributions to their institutions, to CUPA-HR national and/or to the Western Region. Nominees who meet the above definition in the year prior to the 2017 CUPA-HR Higher Ed Symposium (hosted by the Southern and Western Regions) may be submitted to the regional awards committee for consideration.

Regional Lifetime Membership Nomination Form

HR Excellence Award

Sponsored by VALIC

This regional award honors transformative HR work in higher education, recognizing individuals or teams who have provided HR leadership resulting in significant and ongoing organizational change within their institutions. The recipient of this regional award will be submitted to the national awards committee for consideration for the national HR Excellence Award. Thanks to the generous support of VALIC, CUPA-HR is able to make a contribution of $1,000 to the institutional endowment or scholarship fund of the award recipient’s choice.

Eligibility Note: Individuals who are employed by the association, individuals who serve on the CUPA-HR national board of directors, and the institutions of those directors are not eligible to be nominated or selected for awards during their terms of service.

HR Excellence Award Nomination Form

Emerging Leader Award

This award identifies and recognizes a human resource professional who is a positive role model, mentor, and has made significant contributions(s) to the profession, his/her campus and/or CUPA-HR. A significant contribution may include something innovative, service related, creative, etc. Nominees for this award may be submitted to the regional awards committee for consideration.

Emerging Leader Award Nomination Form